Favourite hair products for dandruff!

After using Herbal Essences hair products for a while, I begun to notice that my scalp was really dry and I was getting quite a lot of dandruff. I tried swapping to different Herbal Essences products but it didn’t improve so I went to the go to shampoo and conditioner for dandruff: Head and Shoulders. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that everyone will have the same experience but for me it was so crap and didn’t work. I usually wash my hair every other two days but it was making my hair so greasy it was a stretch to wash it every other day and the dandruff was still there. This was a nightmare for me and I wasn’t sure where to turn next!

But on one trip to Lush my friend (shout out to Roz) pointed out that the Lush shampoo bars are really great and last forever. I was a bit sceptical at first seeing as the bar costs £6.25 but my hair was so gross that I went for it and never looked back! I have the ‘Soak and Float’ Shampoo bar and I’ve had it for many months now and I’m pretty sure it’s going to last me till the end of the year- no joke. It’s specifically for dandruff, eczema and to generally soothe scalps. To use it you can either rub it directly onto your hair or lather it up between your hands. I go for the latter seeing as my hair is so long and thick. As you’re washing your hair it does feel quite stiff and not that pleasant but after adding conditioner it’s all good. After the first couple of times of using it my scalp was already looking so much better and I am able to go three days without washing it now and it hardly gets greasy.

The conditioner I use is the Superdrug Extracts Coconut and Sweet Almond Conditioner for dry/damaged hair. I bought this on offer for 95p and it is actually amazing. You have to leave it in your hair for a few minutes to wash it out is the only issue as I can’t really rush washing my hair anymore. But my hair feels so soft after using it and smells great.

After using the shampoo bar and conditioner for a while now the dandruff is basically not there anymore. When I used to run my hands on my scalp loads of dry skin would come off but now there’s nothing which I am super happy about!

Lastly, when my hair is feeling super dry, after a shower while my hair is still damp I apply macadamia oil to my ends. I also sometimes apply it to my ends when my hair dry to tame some frizz after brushing. I’m not sure how much I spent on this because I have had it for years and I still have 2/3 of it left. You only need to use a tiny bit at a time so it lasts forever.

I hope that this can help some other people who suffer from a dry scalp 🙂

2 thoughts on “Favourite hair products for dandruff!

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

